Enabling Citizens to Participate in Climate Friendly City Development – Our Experiences From the Climathon 2020

Enabling Citizens to Participate in Climate Friendly City Development – Our Experiences From the Climathon 2020

24 hours, a lot of commitment for climate and fun, more than 500 participants all over Germany, including 36 students of spatial planning in five teams. The result?! Five great ideas for joint climate protection!

Climathon Teilnehmende

For the first time the 2020 Climathon took place on November 13th and 14th as a Germany-wide digital event in cooperation with all German branches of the international ImpactHub network. Acknowledged by the United Nations the network aims towards the implementation of the SDGs with the help of innovative business solutions. The ImpactHub Ruhr branch is located in Essen. The Germany event again was embedded in the global Climathon 2020 of the initiative Climate-Kic, taking place in 145 cities in 56 different countries with over 6500 participants, who developed more than 600 ideas for joint climate protection simultaneously over the weekend. Concrete “challenges” or tasks were formulated in advance in cooperation with municipal -, private – and research partners, including the CET of the TU Dortmund University, the Faculty of Computer Science of the Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and the Faculty of Spatial Planning (EPC, RIM and RAM), and worked on during the event. Our team’s topic for the 24 hours of brainstorming was: “Collective impact platform urban space – digital citizen participation for a CO2-neutral and heat-resistant city”. The Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research (IDG) in Darmstadt provided the teams with the software “smarticipate“, which was developed as part of an EU research project, to draw inspiration from and optional creation of new applications.

Climathon Teilnehmende

Our conclusion of the event: We all learned a lot and were grateful for taking home a positive experience, which we would like to share at this point. Especially in spatial planning, there are many questions and problems of an interdisciplinary nature, which require interdisciplinary understanding and collaboration among various disciplines. Strengthening these competencies is the aim of the “Studium Fundamentale” course integrated in the Spatial Planning B.Sc. programme, as part of which the students participated in this year’s Climathon. Thus, the event was an opportunity to test and expand our expertise, skills and the corresponding “soft skills” under digital conditions. In addition to having gotten to know practical digital collaboration tools, we also learned about motivation – and moderation techniques and practiced interdisciplinary teamwork on current societal issues. Perhaps the most important experience with regard to climate protection was that even under time pressure but equipped with good energy, jointly we can develop great ideas and solutions for climate protection from the comfort of our homes and it is fun! In addition, we came to know that much more is possible with regard to digital teaching.

Climathon TeilnehmendeClimathon Teilnehmende

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mitwirkung an der klimafreundlichen Stadtentwicklung möglich machen – unsere Erfahrungen mit dem Climathon 2020

Mitwirkung an der klimafreundlichen Stadtentwicklung möglich machen – unsere Erfahrungen mit dem Climathon 2020

24 Stunden, viel Engagement für’s Klima und Spaß, mehr als 500 Teilnehmende in ganz Deutschland, darunter 36 Studierende der Raumplanung in 5 Teams. Das Ergebnis?! 5 tolle Ideen für den gemeinsamen Klimaschutz.

Climathon Teilnehmende

Der Climathon 2020 fand am 13. und 14. November erstmals als deutschlandweites digitales Event in Zusammenarbeit mit allen deutschen Niederlassungen des internationalen ImpactHub Netzwerks statt. Dies ist ein von den Vereinten Nationen anerkanntes Netzwerk mit dem Ziel der Umsetzung der SDGs mithilfe innovativer unternehmerischer Lösungen. Der ImpactHub Ruhr befindet sich in Essen. Die Veranstaltung war eingebettet in die globale Veranstaltung Climathon 2020 der Initiative Climate-Kic, an der 145 Städte in 56 Ländern mit über 6500 Teilnehmende mitwirkten. Zeitgleich entstanden mehr als 600 Ideen zum gemeinschaftlichen Klimaschutz. In Zusammenarbeit mit kommunalen, privatwirtschaftlichen und Forschungs-Partnern, u.a. dem CET der TU Dortmund, der Fakultät Informatik der FH Dortmund und der Fakultät Raumplanung (Fachgebiete EPC, RIM und RAM), wurden im Vorhinein konkrete „Challenges“ bzw. Aufgaben formuliert, die im Verlauf der Veranstaltung bearbeitet wurden. Für unsere Teams hieß dies 24 Stunden Brainstorming zum Thema: „Collective impact platform urban space – digitale Bürgerbeteiligung für eine CO2-neutrale und Hitze-resistente Stadt“. Hierzu wurde uns vom Fraunhofer Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung (IDG) in Darmstadt die im Rahmen eines EU-Forschungsprojektes entwickelte Software „smarticipate“ zur Inspiration und Anwendung zur Verfügung gestellt.

Climathon Teilnehmende

Unser Fazit der Veranstaltung: Wir haben viel gelernt und viele positive Erfahrungen mitnehmen dürfen, die wir an dieser Stelle teilen möchten. Gerade in der Raumplanung gibt es viele Frage- und Problemstellungen interdisziplinärer Natur, die ein fachübergreifendes Verständnis sowie Kollaboration unter verschiedensten Disziplinen erfordern. Diese Kompetenzen zu stärken ist im Lehrplan im Studium Fundamentale vorgesehen, in dessen Rahmen die Studierenden am Climathon teilnahmen. Somit bot uns die Veranstaltung die Gelegenheit Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten dieser Art und die dazugehörigen „Softskills“ unter digitalen Bedingungen zu erproben und auszubauen. Neben praktischen digitalen Kollaborationstools haben wir auch neue Motivations- und Moderationstechniken kennengelernt und interdisziplinäre Teamarbeit an aktuellen fachübergreifenden Fragestellungen geübt. Die wichtigste Erfahrung mit Bezug auf Klimaschutz, war vielleicht die, dass sich auch unter Zeitdruck mit guter Energie gemütlich von Zuhause aus gemeinsam tolle Ideen und Lösungen für den Klimaschutz entwickeln lassen und dieses gemeinsame Engagement Spaß macht! Zudem wissen wir jetzt, dass im Hinblick auf digitale Lehre noch mehr – viel mehr – machbar ist.

Climathon TeilnehmendeClimathon Teilnehmende

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.